Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Honorary Members & Member of Merit

The M.F.L.S. has two honorary titles that can be awarded in name of the Association. Firstly. there is the title of 'Honorary Member'. It has been generally assumed that an honorary member is someone who has made himself extremely valuable for the Association, besides his own function.

The M.F.L.S. has five honorary members, of which two are still alive. These are prof. dr. O.J.S. Buruma and prof. E.C. Klasen. They are respectively the fourth and fifth honorary members of the Association. Unfortunaly, prof. M.J. Giphart, prof. dr. B.J. Vermeer and prof. G.J. Tammeling are deceased.

The contact with the honorary members is maintained by the Secretary of the M.F.L.S. Board. Letters are sent regularly and the honorary members are always welcome at events such as the Education debate, the Education Awards and the Student-Teacher drinks. Furthermore, they offer advice at administrative and policy level and the Board can always contact them in case of complex issues.

Since 25 March 2021, a new title has been created within the M.F.L.S.: the title of 'Member of Merit'. Members of Merit have not held a position outside the M.F.L.S., but they have been extremely active in their role with the M.F.L.S.. This title was set up to give to Heleen Marijt. She has been the secretary of the M.F.L.S. for 38 years and, after working at the LUMC for 40 years, said goodbye on 1 April 2021. As a token of appreciation for everything she has meant for the M.F.L.S., her directors and members, this title has been assigned to her. 

Prof. G.J. Tammeling - Honorary Member

Prof. Tammeling was a professor of clinical Pathophysiology at Leiden University during his life. He was the Dean of the Medical Faculty of Leiden from 1979 to 1987. On his farewell as a Dean on October 9 1987, he was appointed honorary member of the M.F.L.S.. Each year, the Prof. Dr. Tammeling Prize will be awarded to the best teacher of the LUMC. This prize has been awarded since 1987 and has been the name of this special and inspiring teacher since 1997.

Prof. B.J. Vermeer - Honorary Member

Prof. Vermeer was a professor of skin and slat diseases at the University of Leiden. From 1996, he was the Dean of the faculty of Medicine and he has experienced the merger with the AZL to the Leiden University Medical Center. After his farewell, he was appointed honorary member of the M.F.L.S. on 30 October 2003. In 2004, he was appointed by her Majesty the Queen as an officer in the Order of Orange Nassau.

Prof. Dr. O.J.S. Buruma - Honorary Member

Prof. Dr. Buruma was Chairman of the Board of Directors of the LUMC. He was also a professor of health care policy. He has been involved in the merger of the Faculty of Medicine with the AZL, which formed the LUMC. In addition, HePatho was given to the students under his administration. On 2 November 2006, he was appointed honorary member of the M.F.L.S.

Prof. E.C. Klasen - Honorary Member

Prof. Dr. Klasen was the Dean of the LUMC from 2003 to 2012. He has worked hard for the student participation and has played a major role in integrating M.F.L.S. rooms, such as Hepatho, into the LUMC. After his farewell, he was appointed honorary member of the M.F.L.S. on 15 March 2012

Prof. M.J. Giphart - Honorary Member

Prof. Giphart was Professor of Biomedical Sciences and employed in the Department of Immunohaematology and Blood Transfusion. He played a crucial role in the development of Biomedical education, which had to be more in line with clinical science in the LUMC and thus more in line with the clinic. He was appointed honorary member of the M.F.L.S. on 12 April 2006.

Heleen Marijt - Member of Merit

Heleen Marijt has been the secretary of the M.F.L.S. for 38 years. She joined M.F.L.S. in 1983 and retired on 1 April 2021, after 40 years of work at LUMC. She has supported each Board in terms of secretarial matters. Where this happened at the beginning on typewriters, this had been increasingly digitized over the years. Heleen also took great care of the archive, which was named after her a few years ago. It was appointed Member of the service of the M.F.L.S. on 25 March 2021